Nueva Delhi: The 14th HLC Championship


The 14th HCL International Bridge Championship was held at JW Marriott Hotel, New Delhi Aerocity, from October 19- 23, 2016.

Lavazza Wins Naresh Tandan Trophy

Lavazza represented by Zia Mahmood, Norberto Bocchi, Giorgio Duboin and Dennis Bilde defeated Russia consisting of Andrey Gromov, Aleksandr Dubinin, Georgy Matushko and Evgeny Rudakov, Oleg Kazantsev) by 6 IMPs (109-103) in a intensely fought final over 56 (4 x 14) Boards and won Naresh Tandan trophy and highest prize in Indian history of Rs 20 Lakhs. Russia had to settle for Rs. 10 Lakhs

In the play-off for third place, Dhampur Sugar Mills reprsented by Ashok Kumar Goel (captain), K R Venkatraman, Pritish Kushari, Anil Padhye, Sumit Mukherjee, Debabrata Majumdar lost to Hemant Jalan (Hemant K Jalan – captain, Sandeep Thakral, Kaustabh Nandi, Kaustubh Bendre, Sandip Datta, Vivek Bhand) by 94 IMPs (31-137).

Rick Chakraborty & Norberto Bocchi
Rick Chakraborty & Norberto Bocchi

The World Grand Master Norberto Bocchi today wrote on his FB wall:

«India, Nueva Delhi, a beautiful victory of Lavazza team, thanks to my partner Denis Bilde to be always in a good mood, even after a zero and his excellent bridge play.»

Thanks to my teammates: Zia Mahmood to be the best bridge marketing. His charm, his sympathy and his great technique, making Zia a TOP and thanks to Giorgio Duboin for always being in the forefront when it comes to winning tournaments. »