InicioLibraryNABC @en2014 Spring NABC; Dallas: March 20th and March 21 th

2014 Spring NABC; Dallas: March 20th and March 21 th

2014 Spring NABC 272 x 186March 20th started the 2014 Spring North American Bridge Championships: The Dallas NABC. will be reporting each day all the news

Daily Bulletins and Results

 March 21th, 2014: Cohen, Katz on top in Kay Platinum Pairs

Billy Cohen and Ralph Katz are in the lead after two qualifying sessions of the Kay Platinum Pairs. Their carryover of 54 matchpoints has them 8.56 points ahead of a pair from China – Yichao Chen and Junjie Hu. Top today is 27.
Third place belongs to Brian Platnick and John Diamond. They are followed by Zia Mahmood and Steve Garner, with Mitch Dunitz and Jill Meyers in fifth. Cohen- Katz, scored 57.08% in the first session on Friday and followed with a 62.70% game. The event concludes on Sunday.

Billy Cohen and Ralph Katz
Billy Cohen and Ralph Katz

Canadians leading Lebhar IMP Pairs: Jadwiga Polujan and June Pocock have a slim lead going into today’s two final sessions of the Lebhar IMP Pairs. Polujan is from Calgary AB, Pocock from New Westminster BC. Their carryover score of 25.80 IMPs is just ahead of the 24.97 posted by two New Yorkers – Scott Levine and Aaron Silverstein. Not far behind in third place are Allan Siebert, Little Rock AR, and Don Caton, Pensacola FL.

1st Fri Side Swiss (44 Tables): The Great American Bridge Tour team won the 1st Fri Side Swiss: G S Jade Barrett – Karen Lee Barrett, Anne Dawson, Bjorgvin Kristinsson, Apolinary Kowalski, Jacek Romanski.

 March 20th, 2014

Nashville duo wins NAP Flight A

  Howard, Spector hold on for Baldwin North American Pairs, Flight A win

Two Nashville-area players took the lead after two qualifying sessions of the Baldwin North American Pairs, Flight A, increased it with a big game in the first final session then held on to win the event by fewer than four matchpoints.

Frank Merblum and Doug
Frank Merblum and Doug

The winners, representing District 10, are Bryan Howard, Nashville, and Terry Spector, Franklin, part of the Nashville metro area. The victory was the first North American championship for each player. Second place went to District 25 players Doug Doub and Frank Merblum, trying for their third win in the event. They also have another second-place finish. The winners’ final score was 416.48 to 412.51 for second place.

Marty Fleisher and Michael Kamil
Marty Fleisher and Michael Kamil

Norman Kay Platinum Pairs begins March 21th: The six-session Norman Kay Platinum Pairs gets underway today. Eligible players are paid-up ACBL members who meet one of the following criteria: have earned 50 platinum masterpoints over the three calendar years prior; earned at least 200 platinum points lifetime, or have attained Platinum Life Master or Grand Life Master rank. Marty Fleisher and Michael Kamil won the Platinum Pairs last year. Last years winners were:

2010 Andrew Stark, Franco Baseggio
2011 Joel Wooldridge, John Hurd
2012 Bob Hamman, Justin Lall
2013 Martin Fleisher, Michael Kamil

Kent Mignocchi and Joel Wooldridge
Kent Mignocchi, Joel Wooldridge

 The 2014 Lebhar IMP Pairs begins March 21th: The four-session IMP Pairs — two qualifying sessions followed by two final sessions — gets underway today with the Lebhar Trophy at stake. Previous winners: 

2010 Pablo Lambardi, Pablo Ravenna
2011 Runar Lillevik, Oyvind Ludvigsen
2012 Hailong Ao, Jian-Jian Wang
2013 Kent Mignocchi, Joel Wooldridge

Learn bridge in a day


Most Popular

Recent Comments