2014 Spring NABC Dallas: March 23th


2014 Spring NABC 272 x 186CsbNews.org will be reporting each day all the news

Daily Bulletins and Results

March 23th, 2014: Levin and Coren romp in Platinum Pairs

Richard Coren and Bobby Levin
Richard Coren and Bobby Levin

Bobby Levin and Richard Coren took control of the Norman Kay Platinum Pairs going into the second final session, and didn’t let up. Their blistering 68% evening session left the closest contenders in the dust by nearly three boards.
The second final session was run barometer-style – with the running results posted at the end of every round – through round seven, at which point Levin, of Las Vegas NV and Coren, who lives in Delray Beach FL, were about a board ahead of the field. Beginning with the eighth round, only the results of the boards were posted – like a traveler. Participants doing the math watched Levin and Coren continue to climb. So solid was their position that even the usually superstitious Levin was accepting congratulations before the final recap was posted. Finishing second were Thomas Bessis and Cedric Lorenzini of Paris, France, who called the top pair’s lead “insurmountable.” Coren says he and Levin first played together when he was 17 and Levin was 15. “He was so good,” Coren said, “and he keeps getting better and better. Tonight, he conjured tricks from nowhere.” Third-place finishers Joel Wooldridge of Astoria NY and Kent Mignocchi, Bronx NY.

Barts take lead in Silver Ribbon Pairs: 

Boosted by a 72% game in the first qualifying session, Les and Gloria Bart of Bradenton FL will start today’s play in the Levintritt Silver Ribbon Pairs with a carryover lead of 44.3 on a 77 top. Their carryover score of 286.77 put them ahead of Arnold Malasky of Longboat Key FL and Richard Wegman of Bethesda MD. In third are Texans John Zilic and Tom Peters.

Vanderbilt Knockout Teams, the play begins: Monday, March 24: The premier event of the Spring North American Championships is the Vanderbilt Knockout Teams. The history of the prestigious contest stretches back to 1928 when the man who invented contract bridge, Harold S. Vanderbilt, put the trophy bearing his name into play.

This year the field is: 72 teams.

The 2013 Vanderbilt Trophy winners were: Sabine Auken, captain of the winning team, Morten Bilde, Roy Welland and Dennis Bilde.

These are all the 2014 Vanderbilt teams: [ilink url=»http://csbnews.org/wp-content/uploads/2014/03/Equipos-de-la-vanderbilt-2014.pdf»]Click Here[/ilink]

These are the last years champions: