13th European Champions’ Cup


  Source: EBL

The 13th European Champions’ Cup will be held in Milan, Italy, in the FIGB headquarters, between 13th and 16th November 2014. The contract was signed by the EBL president, Yves Aubry, and the FIGB president Gianni Medugno.

European Champions’ Cup

The European Champions’ Cup (ECC) in its present form started in 2002. It is an annual competition pitting the national club champions from the top ten countries in the previous European Teams Championships against each other. Those NBOs lacking a national inter-club competition may be represented by the winner of its most prestigious team event.

A similar event was tried from 1979 to 1988 in the form of the Europa Cup (for details see «Discontinued Events»). The main difference was that the latter involved a team from each member country, resulting in most of them sending their national team. This was seen as defeating the purpose of the event. With the present more limited format this problem is largely avoided.

Click on the Event number below for the tournament website, on the Venue for rankings and on the Winnerfor team members.

Year Event Venue Winners
2103 13 Opatija, Croatia G.S. ALLEGRA
2012 11 Eilat, Israel G.S. ALLEGRA
2011 10 Bad Honnef, Germany G.S. ALLEGRA
2010 9 Izmir, Turkey ONSTEIN – NED
2009 8 Paris, France ANGELINI – ITALY
2008 7 Amsterdam, Netherlands PARIOLI – ITALY
2007 6 Wroclaw, Poland PARIOLI – ITALY
2006 5 Rome, Italy BBC – GERMANY
2005 4 Brussels, Belgium PARIOLI – ITALY
2004 3 Barcelona, Spain PARIOLI – ITALY
2003 2 Rome, Italy PARIOLI – ITALY
2002 1 Warsaw, Poland ITALY