4NT – Ace Asking, Quantitative, or Take-Out

Print Friendly

I asked my expert panel. When is 4NT by you or your partner in competition not asking for key cards?

robinson_steve
Print Friendly

I asked my expert panel. When is 4NT by you or your partner in competition not asking for key cards? 

Which of the following is ace asking? (Do you have rules?) 
After 1 (by partner) — 4 (by opponent), what does 4NT by you mean? 
After 1 (by partner) — 4 (by opponent), what does 4NT by you mean? 
After 1 (by opponent) — 1 (overcall by partner) — 4 (by opponent), what does 4NT by you mean? 
After 1 (by opponent) — 2 (by partner) — 4 (by opponent), what does 4NT by you mean? 

In constructive non-notrump opening auctions when is 4NT not ace asking? Do you have rules? In this article “answer aces” means either Roman Key Card (RKC) Blackwood, if that’s what you play, or straight aces if you don’t play Key Card Blackwood.

There could be a disaster if partner bids 4NT meaning it as ace asking and you pass thinking it’s invitational. There could also be a disaster if you answer aces with a minimum and partner means 4NT as quantitative. There could be a mix-up if you think 4NT is…Click Here to continue reading…

Esta entrada también está disponible en: Spanish

Comments are closed.